Steelheads extend eight qualifying offers

Boise, ID (7/2/18) – The Idaho Steelheads announced on Monday that the team has extended qualifying offers to eight players. The following players were qualified:


Forwards: Jefferson Dahl, Henrik Samuelsson, Tommy Thompson, and Justin Parizek

Defensemen: Aaron Harstad, Joe Faust, and Cody Corbett

Goaltender: Ryan Faragher


All eight players qualified by the Steelheads played with the Idaho last season. Samuelsson and Faragher finished the season in the American Hockey League, Samuelsson with AHL Rockford and Faragher with AHL Thompson finished the year on an AHL contract with the Texas Stars, while Dahl, Faust, and Parizek also earned professional tryout agreements with AHL clubs during the season.

Each team was entitled to reserve the rights to a maximum of eight qualified players. Only four of those players could be of veteran status, but none of Idaho’s eight qualified players meet that standard. Players on open qualifying offers cannot be traded.

The qualifying offer must remain open for acceptance until July 16th, at which time the qualifying offer becomes null and void and the team may sign the qualified player to any salary or may elect to take no further action. Teams that extend a valid qualifying offer to a non-veteran player shall retain the rights to that qualified player for one playing season.